The offending bit of comment spam:
agjybu@gmail.com wrote: Subject: [Argghhh! The Home Of Two Of Jonah's Military Guys..] New Comment Posted to 'H&I* Fires, 3 June 2008' To:From: agjybu@gmail.com Date: Wed, 04 Jun 2008 08:51:39 -0400 A new comment has been posted on your blog Argghhh! The Home Of Two Of Jonah's Military Guys.., on entry #9262 (H&I* Fires, 3 June 2008).
View this comment:
Edit this comment:IP Address: 58.65.235.213
Name: jhondogfrogs
Email Address: agjybu@gmail.com
URL: http://www.crengland.com
Comments:could reach. off all what the tree, caught it up across accomplish had
probably a real into the yard, I didn't by helping up to Street
So, I sent off the following note.
Mr. Miller - it seems there's been significant attrition at C.R.England based on all the bouncebacks I've been getting, and you guys aren't keeping the website up-to-date!If you want the rest, hit the Flash Traffic/Extended Entry.
Please see below - I was trying to get ahold of Megan Rose based on the website - I'm taking the giant leap that since you have her former phone number, you might have her job.
Cheers,
John
postmaster@crengland.com wrote:
From: postmaster@crengland.com
To:
Date: Wed, 4 Jun 2008 07:59:36 -0600
Subject: Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed.
HowardH@crengland.com
Date: Wed, 4 Jun 2008 06:58:31 -0700 (PDT)
From: John and Beth
Subject: Fwd: A little help, please.
To: howardh@crengland.com
Mr Howard - since Megan Rose's email is invalid (see below), perhaps you can help with this and forward it to the appropriate people in your firm.
Cheers,
John
Date: Wed, 4 Jun 2008 06:55:52 -0700 (PDT)
From: John and Beth
Subject: A little help, please.
To: meganr@crengland.com
Ms. Rose - attached below my signature block is a comment left at my blog, www.thedonovan.com. The blog is a moderately popular military and politics blog. The comment is what we call "comment spam" and is de facto an ad for C.R. England.
I have the following disclaimer up on the site for situations just such as this:
Legal Notice To Spammers
Unsolicited advertising. If you place, or cause an agent to place, any unsolicited ads via any means, not limited to so-called 'comment spam' or 'trackback spam' you are assumed to agree to pay at the rate of $500USD per unsolicited URL. Contact the site owner for remittance instructions. Attempts will be made to collect this tariff, and a failure to make payment will result in formal actions against the advertising site.
Please tell me who to bill?
It beggars the imagination to think that someone is just doing this for chuckles and grins. That's not how spammers operate. Someone, somewhere, is paying a spammer to do this.
I pay for my bandwidth, and I do not provide it for commercial purposes, and I charge $500 when it is hijacked for that purpose.
I have actually collected this tariff twice thus far. It's very simple for me to make a filing in small claims court locally. Cheap, too. And if you choose to fight it, two hours of any good lawyer's time will eat it up.
Please advise - and don't take any of this personally, I'm guessing you're not in charge of advertising.
Cheers,
John Donovan
John of Argghhh!
www.thedonovan.com
If I'm really lucky, the spammer will spam again - on this post because of the C.R. England tie-in, and I can double my money, double my fun.
2 Comments