Archive Logo.jpg

December 12, 2006

News of the Armed Forces Of, and In, Kansas.

MILITARY PERSONNEL WILL BE HONORED AT CITY COUNCIL MEETING DEC. 12, 2006 Personnel from five branches of the U.S. military will be honored at the Topeka City Council meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 12, 2006. Personnel from the Kansas Army National Guard, U.S. Army Reserve, U.S. Marine Corps Reserve, Kansas Air National Guard and the U.S. Coast Guard will be presented with Military Personnel of the Year awards from the Topeka Military Relations Committee.

Receiving the awards will be Maj. Edward G. Keller, Kansas Army National Guard; Spc. David J. Hawkins, U.S. Army Reserve; Staff Sgt. Jason P. McCaffrey, U.S. Marine Corps Reserve; Master Sgt. Sherry L. Hertlein, Kansas Air National Guard and Petty Officer Thomas M. Underwood, U.S. Coast Guard.

The committee sponsors the award, but the recipients are selected for the honor by the military branch they represent, according to Dave Fisher Jr., chairman of the Topeka Military Relations Committee,

“These individuals are being recognized not only for their contributions to the defense of our country, but also as good citizens within the community,” noted Fisher.

Fisher said the Topeka Military Relations Committee was formed by a group of businessmen who “recognize just how important the military is to Topeka.” The committee also includes representatives from each military branch in Topeka. The committee’s goal is to promote the military within the community and to act as a liaison between the military and the community.

Each honoree will receive a plaque that includes a likeness of Ad Astra, the Native American statue on top of the Kansas Statehouse dome.

The City Council meeting will begin at 6 p.m. in the City Chambers, 215 SE 7th, Topeka.

Congratulations to Major Keller, Specialist Hawkins, Staff Sergeant McCaffrey, Master Sergeant Hertlein and Petty Officer Underwood!

Comments on News of the Armed Forces Of, and In, Kansas.
Post a comment

Remember personal info?