Archive Logo.jpg

May 21, 2004

About the Armorer at Castle Argghhh!

Okay, okay. Enough of you have asked, I'll reveal a little.

I was issued at the 10th General Field Hospital, Wuerzburg, Germany. I'm a 10th ID baby.

I've lived in Germany and France for total of 15 years, 5 of them as a soldier. In France, I lived in a little hotel 2 blocks away from the Arc d'Triomphe for six months. And had a 2 hour bus ride to get to school.

I attended 12 schools K-12.

I was an all-state football player and state and national champion wrestler. I practiced a lot of college football before injuries and lack of interest sidelined that career.

I've been a cook, busboy, and waiter. I was a good cook, and a great busboy. I didn't wait tables long enough to know if I was any good at that.

I worked in a college bookstore. I worked in a hobby shop.

I was a cop.

I married my high school sweetheart. She dumped me for a tanker. Hence, I'll always snipe at JMH and there is no such thing as 'Danger Close" for tankers.

I had a second marriage. It ended. That was the best thing about it.

There was no issue from either. I have a stepson, whom I only refer to that way out of respect for the excellent job his father has done being a divorced father. I won't try to usurp his title as Dad. He's earned it.

Those two kept me caged up so She Who Will Be Obeyed could break me to saddle.

My undergraduate degree is in Geography. It was an odd degree type no longer offered - an "applied" bachelor's. Not enough science for a BS, not enough Art for a BA. But AB kept confusing people, who thought it was an Associate's degree. Hence, it no longer is offered. Think of Geography not as "state capitals" but rather as "Man's interaction with his environment". It's been useful. Not least the cartography.

My graduate degree is a Masters of Science in Criminal Justice Administration. That's a fancy way of saying that it's a Public Affairs degree. We studied criminal justice organizations as models. It's about policy, organizing and leading CJ organizations, its not a master's in being a cop.

So, of course, while I was in the army, with that background, they made me a military history instructor and a combat training simulations developer, in addition to being an artilleryman.

In that guise, I helped establish and was the first chief of the first combat training simulation center at a TRADOC school. We built it out of hide.

I have over 46 rotations at the National Training Center. Mostly as an O/C.

I am rated %70 disabled by the VA. Being a combat arms soldier does generate some wear and tear.

I know my way around nuclear and chemical weapons - especially targeting and delivery.

But I really really really dislike both classes of weapons. I was never more happy in the service when the Army got out of the nuke business.

I like critters.

I like guns.

I don't hunt.

I don't care if you do. Go for it.

I'll add to this as the mood seizes.